The CBC is supported by a number of academic leaders from Northwestern University, The University of Chicago, and the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC). In addition to Chicago area leadership, our board membership includes a group of interdisciplinary advisors outside of the CBC’s member institutions. The CBC boards meet regularly to discuss CBC initiatives, award and educational programs, and strategies.

Executive Oversight Board

The Executive Oversight Board (EOB) provides general oversight of the CBC, holding the CBC accountable for achieving the goals established for Phase 2. The members of the EOB also provide guidance and, where possible, assistance on the major Phase 2 initiatives to expand linkages with the biomedical industry, fundraise, and elevate the public profile of the CBC. Until recently, the Provosts of each of the CBC universities (Northwestern University (NU), the University of Chicago (UChicago), and the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC)) directly oversaw the CBC and provided institutional responsibility working primarily through the EOB. As of April 20, 2020, following the CBC Governance Committee recommendation, the governance structure of the CBC reports to the CBC universities Chief Scientific Officers (CSOs) who hold the positions of Senior Research Officers at the three CBC universities.

The EOB is composed of representatives from:

  • the Foundation (initially The Searle Family and The Chicago Community Trust),
  • the universities (the three CSOs), and
  • the biomedical industry (the biotechnology, pharmaceutical and/or venture capital sectors; pending).


Angel Gibson
Executive Vice President
Kinship Foundation (The Searle Family)

Joanna Groden, PhD
CBC Chief Scientific Officer for UIC
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Illinois Chicago

Erin Adams, PhD
CBC Chief Scientific Officer for UChicago
Vice Provost for Research & Senior Research Officer
The University of Chicago

Eric J. Perreault, PhD
CBC Chief Scientific Officer for NU
Vice President for Research
Northwestern University

Other membership pending

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board’s (SAB) overarching goal will be to evaluate annually the scientific agenda and programs of the CBC to ensure the highest scientific standards and the stature of the CBC as an intellectual leader in scientific circles are maintained.


Updated: January 1, 2023

Luisa DiPietro, DDS, PhD
CBC Scientific Advisor for UIC
Director, Center for Wound Healing and Tissue Regeneration
Professor of Periodontics
Department of Periodontics
University of Illinois Chicago College of Dentistry

Richard Morimoto, PhD
CBC Scientific Advisor for NU
Bill and Gayle Cook Professor of Biology
Director, Rice Institute for Biomedical Research
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Northwestern University

Accelerator Venture Board

CBC Accelerator Award program proposals are evaluated by the CBC Accelerator Venture Board (AVB), composed of civic minded venture capital professionals, who generously donate their time to assess finalized investment theses and recommend funding for viable Accelerator Award proposals. The AVB will meet regularly throughout the year. For a complete list of currently scheduled AVB meeting dates, please click on the link below.

▸ CBC Accelerator Venture Board Meeting Schedule

Catalyst Review Board

CBC Catalyst awards are made on the basis of scientific merit and are evaluated by the Catalyst Review Board (CRB) composed of equal numbers of scientists from consortium institutions who serve on a volunteer basis. The Board advises the Scientific Directors and works closely with the Executive Director to define and implement the specifics of the Catalyst Award program.

*The last edition of the Catalyst Award (Round 32) was funded on June 1, 2023. The Catalyst is scheduled to be discontinued and applications are no longer accepted.

Affinity Groups

Affinity Groups are cross-institutional communities centered around specific topics, which promote collaborative exploration of the community’s delineated key scientific questions. Based on Team Science concepts, the Affinity Group will engender collaborations which the community funds through inter-institutional $250,000 awards.

Neuroscience affinity group – Steering Committee:

Simon Alford, PhD ▸ Lab Link
Professor and Head, Anatomy and Cell Biology
University of Illinois Chicago

Edwin H. Cook Jr., MD ▸ Lab Link
Earl M. Bane Professor of Psychiatry
Associate Head, Clinical Services
Director, Program for Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Department of Psychiatry
University of Illinois Chicago

William Green, PhD ▸ Lab Link
Professor of Neurobiology
Department of Neurobiology
The University of Chicago

Indira Raman, PhD ▸ Lab Link
Bill and Gayle Cook Professor
Department of Neurobiology
Northwestern University