April 15, 2015

The Sixth Annual CBC Scholars Scientific Exchange

The Sixth Annual CBC Scholars Scientific Exchange took place on April 1, 2015, at the Gleacher Center in downtown Chicago. During this all-day event, each CBC Scholar presented a ten-minute talk describing their dissertation research followed by a short question and answer period. The networking lunch allowed ample time to share ideas for future CBC Scholar activities, especially those promoting interactions between the 3 CBC universities.

The following graduate students presented at the Scientific Exchange:

Aleksandar Antanasijevic (UIC; PI Michael Caffrey)
Ligand-based NMR techniques in drug design and development

Michael Gebhardt (UChicago; PI Howard Shuman)
Novel virulence factor identification in Acinetobacter baumannii using transposon sequencing (TnSeq)

Stefan Kathman (NU; PI Alexander Statsyuk)
Covalent inhibitors of HECT E3 Nedd4-1 processivity discovered with irreversible tethering

Adelita Mendoza (NU; PI Thomas V. O’Halloran)
Zinc Regulation of Germline and Embryo Development in Caenorhabditis elegans

James Payne (UChicago; PI Jared C. Lewis)
The Directed Evolution of Halogenases for Functionalization of Large, Biologically Active Molecules

Jamie E. Rayahin (UIC; Richard Gemeinhart)
Hyaluronic Acid Hydrogel Crosslinking Density Influences Macrophage Activation

Leo Serebryannyy (UIC; PI Primal de Lanerolle)
A Role for Nuclear Actin in Regulating HDAC 1 and 2 Activity

Lauren Smith (NU; PI Todd Kuiken)
Intramuscular Electromyography for the Simultaneous Control of Multiple Degrees of Freedom in Upper-Limb Myoelectric Prostheses

John Zimmerman (UChicago; PI Bozhi Tian),
Free-standing kinked silicon nanowires for probing inter- and intracellular force dynamics

To learn about other CBC Scholars and their research interests please visit the CBC Scholars webpage.

Photos: The Sixth Annual CBC Scholars Scientific Exchange. (Photos: CBC.)