Success Story

September 28, 2017

CBC Awardee, Dr. Louis Philipson, Announced a 2018 Order of Lincoln Laureate

Congratulations to Dr. Louis Philipson, the Pediatrics Director of the Kovler Diabetes Center at UChicago, for being awarded a prestigious 2018 Order of Lincoln award! Philipson, together with his colleagues Graeme Bell (UChicago), Nissim Hay (UIC) and Joseph Bass (NU), was a co-recipient of a 2011 CBC Spark Award.

Gov. Rauner announces recipients of 2018 Order of Lincoln award

Friday, September 15, 2017 – Office of the Governor

“This year’s Order of Lincoln recipients are an extraordinary group of individuals that truly embody President Lincoln’s relentless and passionate spirit for public service,” Gov. Rauner said. “They have positively changed their communities in numerous ways, and their contributions will impact Illinois and the world for generations to come. It is my honor to award them the Order of Lincoln.”

On Saturday, May 5, 2018, The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will hold its 54th annual Convocation at the historic Coronado Theatre in Rockford. There, members of the Academy will honor eight outstanding Illinoisans with the Order of Lincoln at a formal ceremony, concert and gala reception. These Laureates will join a cohort of 340 distinguished Illinois citizens so honored over the past 54 years.

This year’s Lincoln Laureates are Emily Bear, Dick Butkus, Stephen Shih Chen, The Reverend Michael J. Garanzini, S.J, Mellody Hobson, Edward L. McMillan, Dr. Louis Philipson and David Rydell.

To read about all 2018 Lincoln Laureates CLICK HERE.

Lou Philipson, UChicago

Lou Philipson, MD, PhD, FACP
Professor, Departments of Medicine & Pediatrics, Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism; Director, Kovler Diabetes Center, The University of Chicago

Louis H. Philipson, M.D., Ph.D. is professor of medicine and pediatrics in the Section of Endocrinology Diabetes and Metabolism at the University of Chicago, and a leading world authority on diabetes mellitus. He is the founding director of the Kovler Diabetes Center and president of the Chicago Community Leadership Board of the American Diabetes Association. Dr. Philipson was a co-discoverer of insulin gene mutations causing neonatal diabetes, and helped make the University the Chicago the national leader in the study of monogenic diabetes. He also directs research in preventing and treating type 1 diabetes. Dr. Philipson completed his Ph.D. and medical training at the University of Chicago, and is a graduate of Harvard College.


Adapted (with modifications) from / Illinois News, posted on September 15, 2017.

See more:

Dr. Louis Philipson was a co-awardee on CBC Spark 2011 Award:
PIs: Nissim Hay (UIC), Joseph Bass (NU), Graeme Bell and Louis Philipson (UChicago) for project:
▸ Leptin peptide in diabetes: from mechanism to therapeutics