February 7, 2012

Join us in welcoming the Class of 2012 CBC Scholars

A welcoming lunch for the new class of CBC Scholars was held on January 16, 2012 at Markethouse Restaurant in downtown Chicago. Already in its third year of operation, the CBC Scholars Program aims to develop a leadership forum for students from the three CBC universities to advance the CBC mission of fostering collaboration and excellence.

The nine new members of the Class of 2012 were greeted by the Class of 2011, the remaining members of the inaugural Class of 2010, the three CBC Scientific Directors and members of the CBC staff. The lunch gathering began with each Scholar presenting a short summary of their thesis project followed by a discussion of future events that the Scholars hope to organize and participate in. High on the 2012 agenda is serving as judges for the Chicago Public Schools Science Fair and organizing a half-day symposium that will feature the research of CBC universities’ faculty members. The Scholars also expressed interest in a mentoring dinner, a scientific exchange featuring short talks by the Scholars, outreach programs involving Chicago area high school teachers and students, participating in a technical writing workshop, programs to aid in selecting a post-doctoral position and involvement in the CBC Annual Symposium.

Northwestern University:
Andrew Scarpelli, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Advisor: Joshua Leonard
Elizabeth Tarasewicz, Department of Surgery, Advisor: Jacqueline Jeruss
Jonathan Woon Teck Yap, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Advisor: Lonnie Shea

University of Illinois at Chicago:
Chaitanya Aggarwal, Department of Medicinal Chemistry/ Pharmacognosy, Advisor: Michael Federle
Jackson Cone, Department of Psychology, Advisor: Mitchell Roitman
Susan Klosterman, Department of Biological Sciences, Advisor: Janet Richmond

The University of Chicago:
Timothy Best, Committee on Cancer Biology (BSD), Advisor: Kenan Onel
Gregory Tietjen, Department of Biophysical Sciences & Institute for Biophysical Dynamics (PSD), Advisors: Erin Adams and Ka Yee Lee
Joanna Rowell, Committee on Neurobiology (BSD), Advisor: Clifton Ragsdale

*BSD – Biological Sciences Division; PSD – Physical Sciences Division